Anyone seen the Ottawa River at Temiscaming recently?

Started by RoK, April 29, 2019, 08:36:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RoK

With all the flooding in Ottawa and the river level, just wondering what it's like at Temsicaming.  Anyone been there in the last few days?  I imagine its incredible to say the least.
Cheers, Ron

crunchie

I just drove from Ottawa today and saw many views of the Ottawa River along the way.  Strangely enough, the levels never seem to be a problem north of Ottawa/Gatineau.  I'm no expert on hydro dams (or anything else for that matter)  but I think it has a lot to do with them controlling the flows as there a few between Temiscaming and Ottawa.  In 2017 when Gatineau were flooded big time, there was barely any water at Deux-Rivières???? Of course a lot has to do with the surrounding landscape (lower land levels) which follows the river beds, I would think.
Keep your stick on the ice and your rod in the water

Fort Wisers

The level of the Ottawa river below the crossing at Temiscaming is controlled by the Otto Holden Hydro dam down in Mattawan Twp.
This section of water from Temiscaming crossing down to the Otto Holden dam is referred to as the Lac La Cave reservoir.
This reservoir is generally dropped (I think around mid / end of winter, but that's going by memory) by maybe 2-3 meters with anticipation of the spring run off.

A similar reservoir exists from the Otto Holden dam (Mattawan) down to the Des Joachims dam near Rolphton.
This creates the Lac Holden reservoir.
I believe they also drop this level similar to what is done above in La Cave.

So these two sections generally appear quite low during the spring run off, even if the run off is quite severe.....
As a result of all this, these two sections would no be representative to the heights (and therefore current flooding situation) around Ottawa/Gatineau and further downstream.