Cleaning walleye

Started by Hodgey1, July 11, 2018, 04:39:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hodgey1

I’ve been eating fresh fish that I’ve caught for nearly 50 years and love it. Yellow perch is one of my fav’s and walleye a very close second and salt water, the croaker and king fish. Cleaning fish is a pain, but well worth the effort for me. My real consternation now is wether or not to just cut off and leave the ribs with the thin strip of meat attached and discard it?. I’m not one to waste anything, but I tire of the effort to save such a tiny scrap of meat. Anyone else skipping the rib meat when filleting walleye?
Walleye Rock!

ziggy6

I use the rapala electric knife...I cut along the ribs after the filleting of the the body... I can cut along the bones on the stroke so it saves some meat I dont think there is that much to worry much about especially on perch. 

Jay Thomas

Quote from: puckster_guy on July 14, 2018, 12:39:31 PM
I don't eat many fish. Far too much work involved. I'd much rather toss them back and bbq a nice steak. I will clean a mess of fish for a fry for guests if asked but personally it's mostly catch  and release.

Hi Puckster,

I always considered eating walleye fresh out of Lake Kipawa a real treat. I can BBQ a steak anytime all year long but a walleye fresh from the lake is really special. And with an electric filleting knife, I can have the walleye fillets ready for the pan in about 40 seconds (too much work involved - hardly). I envy the amount of time you get to spend on Lake Kipawa.

Jay

Jay Thomas

Quote from: ziggy6 on July 13, 2018, 09:08:55 PM
Love my electric knife..Highly recommend it.   I have the battery powered one only issue was that this year I found it didnt hold the charge ( 2 years old) so will be looking for a new battery.

Hi ziggy6,